Top 5 Pink Floyd songs

I’ve been wanting to do this for a long time, and here it is, my top 5 Pink Floyd songs. Please note that this list is purely subjective. I’m a sucker for dozen of minutes long instrumental songs, and it shows. Most of the songs I will list are 10-20 minutes long, and require multiple listening to fully enjoy (multiple meaning 5-10). There are also a lot of songs I wanted to include, but didn’t because I don’t want it to become a top 50. But anyway, without further ado here it is :

Disclaimer : Apparently almost every studio versions of Pink Floyd songs have been taken down from Youtube, so I’m going to post live versions if the studio one is not available.

Number 5 : Fat Old Sun

 Image

Album : Atom Hearth Mother (1970)

Duration : 5:22

To me, the most relaxing and blissful Pink Floyd song. I don’t know why, but this song always makes me thinks like all my worries are meaningless. Just let yourself go with the flow, and relax. The song can be reaaally long when played live.

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ttPNilF3v5A

Number 4 : Comfortably Numb

Image

Album : The Wall (1979)

Duration : 6:22

The song isn’t anything exceptional in itself, albeit good, but its selling point is the closing solo. That solo itself is enough to rocket this song to the fourth position. It is just that good. I mean, shiver-inducing level of greatness. I highly recommend the P.U.L.S.E (a live CD), which contains an extended version.

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aglJnHUK1Fw

Number 3 : Dogs

 Image

Album : Animals (1977)

Duration : 17:04

We’re entering 15+ minutes long songs territory here. A really peculiar song, which I find myself unable to describe with words. Acoustic guitar, lots of guitar solos, barking, genius. That would be an accurate description.

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7KQMNlKvpxM

Number 2 : Echoes

 Image

Album : Meddle (1971)

Duration : 23:31

23 minutes and 31 seconds. Now we’re talking. Just instrumental Pink Floyd at its finest. This song would be perfect without the ”Seagull part”, which is a minutes-long segment containing nothing but weird sounds reminding of seagulls. But the quality of the song is more than enough to make it up for it.

Number 1 : Shine on your Crazy Diamond

 Image

Album : Wish You Were Here

Duration : 13:37 + 12:28

Divided in two parts, as the opening and ending of one of the greatest albums of all time, Wish you Were Here, it would be the longest Pink Floyd song if the parts were put together, for a total duration of 26:01. Quite appropriate for the first place, no ? The second part is more instrumental than the first. Trying to review it would be staining it, so I’m just going to post the link.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9zACEJdFOpA

David

1 thought on “Top 5 Pink Floyd songs

Leave a comment